About Me

Welcome to The Straight Stitch

A new adventure begins today.  I am officially a blogger!  I have conquered Facebook, made my own website and found a supportive strapless bra – this should be a piece of cake.  Why a blog you ask?  Well, I always have a lot to say and love to share my thoughts on sewing, pursemaking, owning a business and being crafty. I’m sure a post may appear from time to time about my other loves as well – my crazy trucker husband, 3 dogs, wine drinking and eating. 

The beginning is always a great place to start so here’s a little bit about me:
For as long as I can remember I have been a crafter and dabbled in any & every craft I could get my hands on.  I’m pretty sure I was born with a glue gun in one hand and fabric in the other but that’s just speculation.  My Grandma (one of my most favorite people in the whole world) was also a crafter and shared her many years of wisdom with me before she passed away in 2006.  She could do it all and make anything and so I wanted to do the same.

Fast forward to my early teen years….
This is where my obsession with sewing began.  I made my own clothing (some good and some not so good items), pillows and other accessories.  I loved my sewing machine and it never bothered me that I was kind of a geek. 

Jumping ahead to 2003…..  I started working at a local craft store part time and starting to aquire a love of quilting.  A few years later I decided to give it a  try. I had never made a quilt but it looked like fun.  How hard could it be?
You cut fabric apart and sew it back together.  Needless to say this first venture into quilting created the most awful quilt known to man.  One word – polyester.  One more word – puke.  I was proud of this polyester catstrophe though.  And that’s all it took for me to be hooked to quilting.   And no more polyester.  Lately though quilting has taken a backseat to an even bigger love – bag making!  I am a girly-girl and I love me some bags!  So I began making bags in mass quantities, selling them to anyone who would buy them including my friends & family who always support and encourage me.  My husband has been known to sell a few too.  He’s extremely supportive of my habit.

Sew Many Creations is born….  2011 was a whirlwind year and went by in a fabric-covered blur.  The year started with a simple goal – establish my shop on Etsy.  By March or April I would have enough items made to sell in my Etsy shop.  Easy right?  That didn’t happen though.  Once again I got distracted by another idea. In my many hours of browsing Etsy I found ths new trend of people selling downloadable PDF patterns.  Though I had fought it for so long, even stating once that I would NEVER write patterns, I gave in to the idea.  I had all the foundation to write a good pattern – samples and notebooks full of illegible scribbles, doodles and cutting charts.  And that’s how it began.  Lucky for me I had some friends at local quilt shops who helped answer many of my 1000’s of questions and give me tips to get my business going.  In 6 months I had 7 published patterns and many more still waiting to be printed.  I started teaching (one of my other passions) at my quilt guild, local quilt shops and privately and the rest is history.

And that in short is my story.  Stay tuned for more witty blog posts, hints & tips and sarcasm

And to anyone out there who has read my post, thank you!  I’m glad someone
finds me intertesting….

2 thoughts on “About Me

  1. As a consummate canine lover I thoroughly enjoy all of your pics. My heart hurt when I read about Frank’s demise. We have King, Baby, Choo-Choo, and Prescia in our canine funeral plot in the back acreage. All but one from old age. Prescia from genetic kidney failure who only lived to be six months and had to be put to sleep to stop her pain. While Prescia was only with us for ten weeks from the date of adoption to her burial she has left lasting impressions in our hearts. We lost all four of them between 03/16/12 and 01/31/15 – a very short span of time for the loss of such loving family members. We are parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents, but losing our canine family members was just like losing some of our own children. They gave us so much unconditional love every minute of every day they were with us. Everyone needs to experience love like we have from them. I still grieve every day, so yes, I understand when you say you talk to Frank. I wish you peace in the future when you miss Frank.
    Love your quilts especially the Ripple and Stacked. I am very much a traditional quilt pattern lover with geometrics running a close second. Yours fit just right! Your Ripple is like a churn dash block which keeps extending in size and is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

