September Already?

Autumn is my absolute favorite time of the year.  The smell of the fall air, cooler nights, leaves changing colors, boots & jeans, pumpkins and apple flavored everything – what’s not to love?  So it’s only fitting that my first applique pattern would be….Halloween themed!

All Hallows Eve – Fusible raw-edge machine applique

I FINALLY finished one of my new bag patterns as well.  I am so pleased with how this bag came out.  It has a zipper top (easy to install), outside pockets, inside pockets and it’s the perfect size for any lady.  Meet the Trendsetter:

The Trendsetter – in one of my favorite collections from Joel Dewberry, Aviary 2

I came home last week and was rushing around to take more photos of this bag for the cover before I lost the sunlight.  I attempted to take a few shots out on the front lawn, still dressed in my work clothes, when the UPS truck pulled up.  I am still wondering what the driver thought when he saw me squatting on my front lawn, in a dress & heels, photographing my purse.  I am assuming that this isn’t the weirdest thing he’s ever seen (I mean let’s face it, people are just bizarre somtimes) but I’m sure I made his top 10 list of the most oddball things he’d ever seen.  He handed me the package (no eye contact), I signed and we went on our separate ways.  It’s all good though because this is what he brought me:

MODA!!!

 

My sample fabric arrived!!  I spent the next hour staring, petting, touching, organizing, smelling and generally loving my fabric.  I am still in awe of the fact that I have this brand new, not available in stores yet fabric (I’m a dork, not gonna lie).  Reality soon sunk in and I starting ironing it and preparing to make my Fall Markt samples although I still haven’t had the balls to cut it.  So much to do and not enough to do it!  But I am determined to get everything finished and shipped out in a few weeks.  In the meantime I am preparing for the Fall Local Designer Event at Patti’s Quilting & Fabrics on Saturday September 22.  I can’t wait for this awesome event.  6 local designers, samples for sale, discounts, classes and demos!!!  I hope to see everyone there! 🙂  Fingers crossed for good weather – we’re hoping to be outside.

 

September 2 is always a little sad for me.  6 years ago today, I lost one of my most favorite people in the whole world, my Grandma.  She was so much more than a grandmother and such an inspiration to me.  She is the reason that I am the crafty, sewing enthusiast that I am.  She taught me so much in 26 years that I only wished I could have had even more time with her.  She will always be in my heart.  Grandma, this is all because of you.  Thank you 🙂

One thought on “September Already?

Leave a Reply

