And the slacker award goes to……

Wow, I am such a slacker.  I can’t believe it’s been this long since my last post.  At least I managed to squeeze this post in just a day under the one month mark.  I have been absent but it’s for good reason.  I have been absolutely swamped with pattern orders (yeah!) and samples orders (yeah again!) and market samples (yeah one more time!).  I feel like I am making progress one day and by the next day the to do list has doubled.  I’m not sure how it happens but it does.  So in order to alleviate some of my stress I decided to cut back on a couple things.  I am no longer on the Quilt North guild membership committee.  I have enjoyed the last 5 years (Geez, 5 years, can it be??!) but I feel I have earned a seat in the audience where I can do nothing but watch.  I also made the difficult decision to not do quilt shows after this year.  Again, I have had a great time over the past 2 years but it is physically and mentally exhausting.  The older I get, the harder it is for me to “bounce back” from a weekend away and the stress of getting packed for 2 days is overwhelming.  I have the same problem with drinking which is why I don’t do too much of that anymore either.  I just don’t have time for a 2 day hangover regardless of how much fun the night itself was.  And let me tell me, I am pretty freakin hilarious when I’m drunk, or at least I think I am…. Ok I’m getting off track.  So here’s what I have been up to for the last month:

The brand new Getaway bag is finally done! The pink & grey one is en route to Market and the green one will be heading out soon. Patterns are now available!

I thought bringing Sam along for the photo shoot would be a fun idea. Instead it was like bringing a hungry toddler to a restaurant. He couldn’t just sit still and watch me like I wanted him to. No, he had to run away, wrap his leash around trees and pee on everything he could lift his leg high enough to reach.  He’s lucky he is so cute.

Sunbathing, the second fusible applique quilt pattern, is now available. I know it looks a little more like spring than fall but imagine the flowers in golds & rich plums with a leafy print border. Or how about in red & white with hunter green leaves for Christmas. Oh the possibilities!

There are many more things, of course, that I have been working on.  Not all of them need to be photographed such as my lack of exercise and over-eating of candy and sweets (my sweet tooth is out of control).  No one needs to see that.  I am still working on 2 more new patterns for the end of the year for my other favorite holiday, Christmas.  Halloween will always hold a place in my heart right along side Christmas.  I couldn’t choose between the 2 so for now they tie for first.  The house is still a disaster zone and the progress is moving along quite slowly but I’m trying to be  being forced to be patient.  It’s not an easy thing for me.

Well, that’s about it for now.  Hopefully I will sneak in another blog before the end of the month and will have some new things to share.  BTW – the office at the garage is actually organized!  Can you believe it?  I can’t!

Stitch ~ Sew ~ Create

One thought on “And the slacker award goes to……

  1. Congrats on retiring, Jess! I felt a little lost the first few meetings after I “retired” but it soon became very nice to be able to walk around and check things out!

Leave a Reply

