New year, new goals

I have to say that 2013 was one of my favorite years.  It was a challenging year overall with lots of ups and downs, probably more than one person really needs, but it was a great year.  Owning 2 businesses has taught me so much.  I have learned that I can’t do everything but I can certainly try my best.  I have learned that having the right people in my life will benefit me, but having the wrong people around will motivate me to succeed.  I have learned that my real friends understand how insanely busy I am but the people who were never true friends will never get it.  I have grown immensely closer to my family, including my 14 year old sister who has become one of my best friends.  And most importantly I have learned that photographing quilts in the snow is never easy, especially when wearing clogs.  Really, this is just the tip of the iceberg.  I have learned so many other valuable lessons in 2013 that I will carry with me this year and all the other years to come.   

My pattern business has grown more in the last half of 2013 then I ever thought imaginable and this has given me the kick (in the ass) that I needed to grow it even more.  When I first started writing patterns I figured it would be a small side business that gave me a little extra income.  I never imagined I would be selling patterns internationally and creating quilt designs for fabric companies.  Maybe I couldn’t imagine because it wasn’t what I wanted 3 years ago.  Or maybe I just wasn’t ready.  Whatever the reason I am ready now to turn this little home-based pattern business into something more.  Am I looking to be famous?  A household name?  The next Martha Stewart?  Umm, no.  I just want to be me.  The best me that I can.  I have set goals ( I hate using the word “resolution”) for this year that I hope I can achieve.  Working on this blog is one of them.  Before I get too deep and this turns into an afterschool special, how about some pics?

Here are a few works in progress from the end of the year:

Image

South for the Winter in Alison Glass Sunprints for Andover Fabrics

Image

Floor Tiles using Moda PB&J by Basic Grey. And a blonde rat.

Image

Trellis using Hoffman California Batiks

Have you set goals for yourself too?  How do you plan to keep yourself on track?  My husband and I have made set some goals for us and have a verbal agreement (that means we both love to rub it each other faces when we’re not being mindful of our goals).  For my business I have written down most of them as a checklist so I am reminded daily of what I need to do to stay on track.  I also find that sharing some of them helps me to stay on track because I don’t want to be the jerk who said she’d do something and didn’t. 

Happy Sewing!

Jessica

 

 

Leave a Reply

