South for the Winter Quilt Pattern

After this treacherous winter we’ve had in upstate NY I would happily fly south for the winter if I could. Unfortunately that’s not an option so instead I made a quilt and named it as such. Now I know, flying geese quilts are nothing new. They aren’t brand new to the quilt world – nothing revolutionary here but I happen to like them. I used a super easy technique for this pattern that you may or may not have used before. If you have, I’m guessing you loved it. If you haven’t, you’ll love it soon enough. There’s no waste with this technique and my geese always have nice wings šŸ˜‰ I made the cover quilt for the pattern using Sunprints by Alison Glass for Andover Fabrics. I LOVE this line. It’s part blender, part modern print and the colors are to DIE FOR! They’re rich and bright and they all blend so nicely with each other and Alison’s other lines. Below are some of the pics that I tried out for the cover.

There’s a little bit of a story of how this quilt came to be. Its not much to talk about but, hey, why not share right? I am an Instagram addict. There, I said it. I look every day, during the day, during lunch, before bed. ALL THE TIME. I love Instagram. I was looking around one day, scrolling through quilt photos and I started noticing this trend of simple, traditional blocks being used in bright contemporary colors with bits of white which is totally my style. I had to make something. So I drew something up on the computer and then just sat on it for a while. I never even gave it a name until I received an email from Emily at Timeless Treasures (she’s my fabric dealer) and she showed me this great line of blue and white winter themed batiks. I put them in the quilt and the name just came to me. So that’s my story….

Here are some of the pics I took that didn’t make the cut for the cover. Do you know hard it is to photograph a quilt in the snow that has so much white in it? Well, it is not easy….

IMG_0680

IMG_0681

IMG_0682

IMG_0683

IMG_0684

IMG_0686

IMG_0687

IMG_0688

And this is the blue batik quilt using the Timeless Treasures:

South for the Winter

Here’s a few more in bright colors from Andover:

South for the Winter Modern Folkloric White Lies Geese

South for the Winter Dazzle

One thought on “South for the Winter Quilt Pattern

Leave a Reply

